ST. JOHN'S RECTORY
New York City Landmark Designation List 488
St. John's Rectory was designed by architect Arthur Gilman, and built in 1881-1882 by John W. Winmill. The Victorian structure features a stone base and cedar shingles, with projecting bays and carved wood details. The building complements the church’s bucolic Gothic Revival façades, which include granite cladding and a picturesque carved wooden entrance porch. Some of the original furniture is still used in the rectory. was designated as New York City landmark on June 28, 2016 as Designation List 488.
The church office is located on the B1 level, living room, dining room, kitchen and library on the first level, and seven bedroom on the upper levels. Originally, the kitchen was built in the B1 level with a dumbwaiter serving the dining room on the first level. An additional bathroom was added to the master bedroom during an extensive renovation in 2003. Every winter, the rectory hosts St. John's annual Christmas party, known as the Rectory Open House.
Before the construction of the current rectory, the former rectory is located in 33-37 Belair Rd., just a few blocks down from the church. Read more about the Rectory on New York City Landmark Designation Report by clicking here or view the original report.
Photos by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, Hunter Jordan and Michael Adams